Local Voters Fill Town And Village Positions

Image by AD Simko/WNYNewsNow.

MAYVILLE — Voters had their say Tuesday as they elected their friends and neighbors to various positions at the town and village level.

Republican Town of Carroll Supervisor Russell L. Payne was re-elected with a 613 to 390 vote victory over Democrat Laura Smith. Republicans John T. Barber (694 votes) and Dalton J. Anthony (666) were elected to town council, with Democrat Timothy P. Burkett landing 357 votes. Pending absentee ballots, Democrat Michael B. Walker lead the race for Town Highway Superintendent over Republican James H. Mitchener III, by a 502-482 count.

Town of Chautauqua voters elected Edward S. Kalfas as Town Justice with 531 votes. Democrat Randolph Henderson netted 421 votes.

City of Dunkirk voters tabbed Republican David P. Damico as the at-large city council member with 1106 votes. Democrat Nick j. Weiser garnered 1007 votes. The winner in Ward I was Democrat Natalie A. Luczkowiak, with 1021 votes to the GOP’s Donald J. Williams Jr., who captured 817 votes.

The Ward II race will likely be decided by absentee ballots. Republican Linda A. Stolinski leads as of Wednesday morning with 1056 votes to Democrat Martin E. Bamonto, with 1038. Ward s III and IV both went Republican with James J. Stoyle  winning with 1258 votes to Democrat Phillip A. Collier gaining 852 votes. Nancy J. Nichols, GOP, bested Democrat Nanette M. White 1231 to 874.

The City Clerk Board of Assessors race was won by Erica J. Munson with 1206 to Frank J. Beach with 886 votes.

The Dunkirk Town Council seat went to the GOP’s Robert L. Penharlow with 147 votes to Juan Pagan’s 117 votes. Apple Party candidate Shari K. Miller garnered 89 votes.

Republicans swept  the two seats for North Harmony Town Council. GOP candidates Richard Sena (369 votes), and Bruce M. Pfeil (303) defeated Democrat Steven W, Senske with 191 votes.

In the Town of Portland, Republicans swept the Town Council as follows: R-Rick M. Manzella, 482, R-Tammy L. Thompson, 372, D-Jerry Boltz 246 and Valaria A. Colt, 140.

Two Republicans bested a field of six candidates for Ripley Town Council with Donald W. Henry getting 243 votes, Republican Julie A. Rice 226 votes and Democrats John Trevelline, 144 votes, and Laurel Adams with 132 votes. Conservatives Keith H. Potter (47 votes) and Carolyn M. Terrance (42 votes).

Sheridan Town Council seats went to Republicans Richard C. Feinen (528) and Craig M. Sutton Jr. (505). Democrat Susan A. Bigler tallied 276 votes. Jeffrey A. Feinen, Republican, was elected Town Highway Superintendent with 537 to Democrat Douglas J. Gula’s 241 votes.

The Stockton Town Council seat was won by Republican Hanna V. Abram with 330 votes to Democrat Stanley P. Zembryski’s 164 tallies.

Democrats took both seats for the Villenova Town Council. Democrats Nathan Palmer had 153 votes and Daniel Distasio had 150. Improvement Party candidates Susan L. Baldwin, with 59 votes, and Nancy L. Huber receiving 64 votes.
Two Republicans were elected to posts as Village of Brocton trustees. Bryan C. Woleben landed 161 votes to fellow ticket mate Kari A. Doino’s 142 ducats. Barbara A. Colt, with 73 votes, and John S. Morse 53 votes, finished third and fourth.
Village of Fredonia Trustee spots were shared by a Democrat and a Republican. Republican Nicole Siracuse (1047 votes) and Democrat Michelle Twichell (773 votes), defeated Democrat Michael Barris (548) and Republican William Weatherlow (721) and Working Families candaidae Roger M. Britz Jr., with 301 votes.
Republicans won the two vacant trustee seats in Fredonia. Jon Espersen, with 1019 votes, and David Bird, with 862 votes, beat Democrats Gregory Krauza, 815 votes, and EvaDawn Bashaw, 563 votes.
The GOP landed the Silver Creek Mayor position and both village trustee seats. Jeffrey G. Hornburg received 373 votes to Democrat Warren M. Kelly’s 126 tallies. Trustee posts went to the GOP’s Stephen P. Romanik, 361 votes, and Sandra H. Lindstrom, with 328 votes. Democrats Kelly Ziegler received 155 votes and Philip Davila won121 votes.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.