Designation Gives Assistance To Area Farming Community

Photo: Pixabay

WASHINGTON – U.S. Senators Charles Schumer and Kirsten Gillibrand announced this week that the U.S. Department of Agriculture has approved a natural disaster designation for Chautauqua and Cattaraugus Counties farming community that suffered heavy rains and severe flooding in 2019.

In total, the designation will give federal assistance, such as emergency loans and other aid programs, to 43 upstate New York counties.

“After weathering a brutal farming season last year, the USDA’s disaster designation will provide much needed assistance to farmers and growers throughout Upstate New York,” said Senator Schumer. “From corner to corner of the state, I have seen firsthand the aftermath of last year’s severe rain and flooding. Thankfully, this disaster declaration means our Upstate farmers and growers will have access to critical emergency loans and more, at a time when they need it the most.”

Throughout the year, the USDA offers a variety of programs and services to help communities, farmers, ranchers, and businesses recover from production and physical losses due to drought, flooding, and other natural disasters.


Make it easy to keep up to date with more stories like this. Download the WNY News Now mobile app on the Apple App Store and Google Play Store.


Have a news tip? Email, send us a message on Facebook, or Twitter.

WNY News Now encourages an open exchange of opinions and ideas on our stories, however, we ask everyone to follow our comment policy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.