New York Joins Coalition Backing FTC Rule Against ‘Junk Fees’


(WNY News Now) – New York – New York State, alongside 18 other Attorneys General, supports the Federal Trade Commission’s proposed Trade Regulation Rule on Unfair or Deceptive Fees, marking a crucial step in ongoing efforts to shield consumers from “junk fees” that obscure genuine prices.

In a significant move to safeguard consumers from deceptive pricing practices, New York State, among 19 Attorneys General, is endorsing the Federal Trade Commission’s (FTC) proposed Trade Regulation Rule on Unfair or Deceptive Fees. This collective action reflects a commitment to curbing the harmful impact of “junk fees.”

Junk fees, known for concealing the actual costs of goods and services, not only adversely affect consumers but also place honest businesses at a disadvantage, as competitors employing these practices appear as better bargains. The collaborative effort to combat such fees is a long-standing initiative, highlighting the necessity for effective partnerships between state and federal entities dedicated to supporting consumers and businesses in their respective communities.

The Attorneys General submitted a comment letter on Wednesday in response to the FTC’s notice of proposed rulemaking. The proposed rule aims to address deceptive fee practices through key provisions, including prohibiting ‘bait and switch’ advertising, mandating clear and upfront disclosure of total prices, enhancing the prominence of total prices in advertisements, preventing misrepresentation of fees, and ensuring transparent disclosure of fee nature and purpose before consumer consent.

In their letter, the Attorneys General support the FTC’s proposed rule and highlight their enforcement efforts in protecting consumers from deceptive fee practices.

Joining Pennsylvania and the co-lead state, North Carolina, in the letter are the Attorneys General from Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Hawaii, Illinois, Maine, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma, Oregon, Vermont, Washington, and Wisconsin.


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.