Candidates From Jamestown File Election Petitions

WNY News Now File Image.

MAYVILLE – The deadline for filing petitions to the Chautauqua County Board of Elections has passed, and all of the candidates who’ve either been endorsed or announced a bid for Jamestown City Council and Jamestown Mayor have filed the necessary paperwork. 

The Chautauqua County Board of Elections website said that the City of Jamestown’s GOP endorsement for mayor, Dave Wilfong, has received the required number of petitions along with mayoral candidate Andrew Liuzzo. Liuzzo will be challenging Wilfong for the GOP nomination on June 25, with the winner moving on to face Democratic nominee Eddie Sundquist for mayor.

Sundquist has also received the necessary petition amount.

Greg Lindquist, Kimberly Ecklund and Jeff Russell, all of whom were endorsed by the GOP for City Council At-Large. Greg Rabb, Tamu Graham-Reinhardt and Taylor Scott were endorsed by the city’s Democratic Party. Three of the six will be elected in November.

GOP nominee for Ward I, Brent Sheldon, will be challenged by Democrat Tim Smeal in November. Both have received the required paperwork.

In Ward II, Tony Dolce will be challenged by Raven Thompson for the GOP nomination in a June 25 primary. Thomas Vitale is challenging the seat as a Democrat.

Democrat Victoria James will be running unopposed in Ward III.

Republican Brittnay Spry is challenging incumbent Democrat and currently City Council President Marie Carrubba in Ward IV.

In Ward V, incumbent Maria Jones will be challenged by Republican Grant Olson.

Democrat Tom Nelson will be running unopposed in Ward VI.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.