Chautauqua County Legislators Take Oath Of Office As New Year Begins

App users, tap here to watch video report.

MAYVILLE – Legislators in Chautauqua County took the oath of office during their first meeting of the new year on Monday.

Among the new faces who joined the body includes Republicans Marty Proctor, who represents District 18, and Dave Wilfong, for District 11 in Jamestown.

As for Democratic lawmakers, Fredonia’s Susan Parker now represents District 4 and Billy Torres who ran un-opposed to serve Jamestown’s District 9.

Torres tells us he attributes former County Legislator and Jamestown City Councilwoman Victoria James as one of his many inspirations to seek office. This after her sudden passing last year.

“She was a big inspiration to everybody, along with myself and the many 1,000s of kids, I want to just try to help the best I can,” said Torres.

In addition, the previous Legislature Chairman Pierre Chagnon was elected chairman. Also, John Penhollow was appointed to fill the term of former Legislator Mark Odell who resigned in July after moving out of state.


Make it easy to keep up to date with more stories like this. Download the WNY News Now mobile app on the Apple App Store and Google Play Store.


Have a news tip? Email, send us a message on Facebook, or Twitter.

WNY News Now encourages an open exchange of opinions and ideas on our stories, however, we ask everyone to follow our comment policy.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.